Why Some of Us Stay Closeted

I’m re-blogging this as I feel that tolerance of different views and beliefs is important. It is helpful to learn to live in harmony with your fellow humans even if they are different.

I am dismayed not just by the lack of reason but the open discrimination in that part of the world. My father told me of a time before I was born when he went for a job with a family-run business who were very religious and because he was not they did not see him as a ‘proper’ person and did not give him a job. Which might not seem very ‘Christian’ but actually is what many Christians are like. It seemed hardly believable at the time when he told me.

I am grateful to live in a time and place as tolerant as I do. Peace to all and all that. I call myself an agnostic as it is often easier that way. An Atheist is sometimes seen as being as militant as the Catholic in their beliefs and thrusting them onto others. However although I might concede it is impossible to disprove the existence of a ‘Divine Being’, I feel such a deity must be a cruel one to allow such misery as there can be found in this world as well as allowing such horrific acts as have been done in his/her/its’ name.

I try to find room in myself to live in harmony with people of all types. I even try to get along with people who are openly racist although I can’t help making my non-racist views known and I might mock them for it but not so they can hear it. The fact is that they have their views and they are different to mine. I’m not likely to change them so I might as well let them be. Did I just compare racism to religion? That was not my intention. Oh dear. Don’t hate me, that would be Jakeist.

Anyhow, what am I saying? Atheists and religious people of all faiths are entitled to their beliefs or lack of them. Other people believe different things to you. Accept it. Live with it.

godless in dixie

closet3Recently someone suggested to a group of mostly closeted atheists in the Deep South that maybe they shouldn’t be closeted at all.  Maybe they should “come out” because so many Americans are already too judgmental towards non-believers and the only way to counter that is for more of us to openly identify ourselves. That may very well be the case, and I do hope more of us can make that transition with a minimal amount of loss in our personal lives.  But there are at least a couple of issues which are lost on people not from our region of the country.

The first should be fairly obvious to anyone who lives where I live:  Coming out as an atheist in the Deep South can cost you your friends, your job, and even your family.  I know this because I am in touch with hundreds of southern atheists like myself…

View original post 596 more words

