Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection

Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection

“Go to your Stats page and check your top 3-5 posts. Why do you think they’ve been successful? Find the connection between them, and write about it.”

wp stats

Let’s have a look at that. What do we see?

Beware Selling on Ebay 68
Golden Morning Glow 53
Weekly Photo Challenge: People and Boats Through My Eyes 40
Fleeting: Waiting and then gone. 36
Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves of Waterloo Station

Apart from my home page/archives the top one is about ebay. It seems my post that more people want to read is about a bad experience of selling. I can understand that I think.

The others are all weekly photo challenges. These always generate the most views for me. People like a good photo. They can be good fun to take part in and I’m learning how to take a better picture. I’ve never thought as myself as a particularly good photographer but I post photos, people look and like. Part of that is the weekend effect. Anything I post at the weekend get more views.

I didn’t come here to make a photo blog though. I came here to write. Good then that the next post on the list is a little thing I wrote about my love. It only got one like though and that was from the person it was about! https://jakekuyser.wordpress.com/2013/05/04/daily-post-little-thing/

My least viewed post? I wrote a post about music I liked and nobody cared for it. Only 2 views. I’ll keep trying though. https://jakekuyser.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/endorphins/

What conclusions can I make? Post photos to get views. Some things will draw readers from all over such as having a good old complain. Spam pingbacks on the weekly photo challenge to get even more views. Post on a Saturday or even better Sunday for the most views.

