Flash Fiction: Coming Down To Earth

Child. Photo by Alexis/El Caminante

Child. Photo by Alexis/El Caminante

“It’s time Johan. It’s time you came down.”

“I don’t want to. I want to keep flying with all the other kids.”

“Yes. We love you Johan. We’ve been waiting for you ever since we saw the stork deliver you in the sky. Please come down.”

“And I’ve always flown. How will I know how to walk? On the ground like a grown up?”

“You will. We flew when we were your age but we walk all the time now. Once the ground gets to know you it doesn’t want to let go.”

“Why can’t I just fly forever? I want to fly forever.”

“Coming down to earth is part of growing up. Only babies fly. Do you want to be a big baby all your life?”

“I want to be grown up like you. OK, Just for a bit. Oof. Owowow. My legs hurt.”

“Let mummy and daddy hold you. I’ll kiss it better.”

This post was written for Rebekah Postupak’s weekly writing compitetion:

Flash! Friday # 43

Also part of this week’s Weekly Writing Challenge: Blogging Events

” For this week’s featured-based challenge, try to find a blogging event through our Events Listings page and use one of these features to give some extra oomph to your entry.”

