Can We Dump ‘Auld Lang Syne’ For Something Happier?

I’ve never liked that song so I’m all in favour of something happier! 🙂

Lynne's Art and Soul

I hate New Year’s Eve.  It always makes me think of people I’ve lost over the years and getting old.  It is not helped by having to sing that awful Scottish dirge, ‘Auld Lang Syne’.  It is traditionally sung by Scots on Hogmanay (the last day of the year).  Wikipedia says ‘it is also sung at funerals, graduations and as a farewell or ending to other occasions’.  I think that explains a lot really.  That means it is not used to welcome the New Year in, it is to get rid of the old one.  No wonder I always find it depressing!  As an English woman, I object to my New Year celebrations being taken over by the dour Scots.  It’s time this miserable ‘tradition’ was dropped and a new one put in its place, so……….

I’ve decided instead that this year I’m going to sing ‘Happy New Year To…

View original post 101 more words

