Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

“In this week’s challenge, show us your take on a monument (broadly defined). It could be a fresh angle on a well-known tourist site, or a place nobody knows outside your community. It doesn’t even have to be an official monument.”

IMG_20130915_123215-holyrood-edit

Last year, Wikipedia had a photography competition, “Wiki Loves Monuments“. I roamed around Southampton, finding and snapping the local monuments and listed buildings. I knew there was no way I would win anything but it would be nice to have a photo of mine on Wikipedia. It was just fun in itself anyway and I got some photos I quite like. This one is of the monument that has been made of the ruined Holy Rood Church in honour of those lost at sea including the Titanic. It was hard to get this one as this part is behind a metal fence. Hope you like it. 🙂

