Dealing With a Let Down

We all know what disappointment feels like. Last weekend was when my fiancée was planning to move in with me. It was all arranged and I was to hire a big van and collect her and her things. We were both looking forward to this new stage in out lives together. I had been imagining what it would be like living together full time, all the good things.

That’s all it was though, hopes and dreams. We imagined what would happen if events went as we had planned. Life often doesn’t fit our dream of what should happen or what we want to happen. As it was, my Mother-in-law-to-be fell ill and had to go into hospital. Fortunately she seems to be on the mend. So, what I had been imagining would happen, didn’t. My fiancée is staying near her mother and not so near to me.

A bit of a let down. So, should we be despondent? Yes, maybe not as happy as I might be. The dream didn’t happen yet. This should be no surprise. The other night I dreamed the roof leaked and my whole home got damp. That didn’t happen yet either so I’m grateful for that pleasant surprise. It’s not so bad. I’m not ill in hospital, so I’m lucky. I do feel sorry for those who don’t have good health but I have no reason to feel sorry for myself. Is this bad for our relationship? It could be but there is no reason to let it. We are still the same. We still love each other, we still dream of living together and it might even happen eventually.

We just have to stay strong. We can’t help feel disappointment when the world isn’t quite what we imagined. It’s just a feeling though and we can move on and keep working toward our goals and our ideals.

