Photo Challenge: Adventure!

Photo Challenge: Adventure!

“This week, share a photo that says “adventure.” It could be an image of someone setting off on an epic journey, a photo you took on an adventure of your own, or something more metaphoric that represents a personal or psychological adventure. We’re excited to see where you’ll take us!”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

.

These photos are from my visit to the island of Tenerife in 2000. I took them with a camera I bought for just a few pounds. Every photo has a vignette effect which is not an instagram filter, it’s the camera!

One morning I climbed this steep road in my little hire car seeking adventure. I like the way this view invites you to find out what’s around the corner.

.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
.

After turning many corners I took this photo of the rocky landscape I found.

.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

.

From the high caldera, which is a massive volcano crater, I took the cable car to an area near the top of Mount Teide, the highest peak on Tenerife and in Spain, rising from the caldera. There is a walking path which you can just about see below in this photo but that takes about 5 hours to walk up, so I chickened out of that bit of adventure!
.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
.

At about 3700 mtrs the air is quite thin, which is intoxicating in itself. From up here we can see far across the island as well as a couple of smaller canary isles near the horizon.

.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

It felt to me like high adventure up there above the clouds. I hope you like the photos! 🙂

Teide
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Mount Teide (Spanish: Pico del Teide, IPA: [ˈpiko ðel ˈteiðe], “Teide Peak”) is a volcano on Tenerife in the Canary Islands. Its 3,718-metre (12,198 ft) summit is the highest point in Spain and the highest point above sea level in the islands of the Atlantic. At 7,500 m (24,600 ft) from its base on the ocean floor, it is the third highest volcano on a volcanic ocean island in the world after Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa in Hawaii.[2]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Teide

