The Best Gift

It’s Worth Giving Blood.

I haven’t given blood for a couple of years. It’s important to give blood and I think you should but I haven’t been able to.

I donated regularly for years. Over 40 donations, which I’m pretty proud of. More recently, a few times, the week after donating I had been feeling run down so I decided it was best to only go once a year, but at least I was still doing my bit. Then my vein started being difficult. There was a burning pain the whole time the needle was in. Like having a cigarette put out on your arm. So I started having an anaesthetic and that was OK but after a few more donations the blood was slow to come out. Then one time it was so slow that not enough came and I had an underweight donation, wasting everyone’s time. So, with a heavy heart, I decided to rest my vein for at least a year, maybe two.

Early this year I had some tests on my liver. It was all a bit worrying but I got given the all clear in the end. After all those tests I was pretty sure my health was OK so I decided to give blood again. Unfortunately they refused to take any because I had been having tests on my liver. Another fail! I told them I have been given the all clear but they want to be sure they’re not harming my heath and they want to be sure my blood will be good quality so they sent a letter to my doctor.

A couple of weeks ago I got a letter confirming I’m OK to give blood, so I went along to the next session and after reading the letter they agreed I could donate. We talked about how my left arm had become difficult and needing anaesthetic. I said maybe we could use the other arm. They had a look at it and said it did have a sort of kink in the required vein in my left arm but my right arm looked fine. Also maybe it wouldn’t hurt in my right arm so I agreed to try with no anaesthetic. I looked away as the needle went in and I hardly felt a thing. After that the blood flowed quickly into the bag. 470ml in a few minutes, no problems. I had a drink and some nice biscuits then I went home feeling fine. I’ve been fine afterwards as well.

It feels like a weight has been lifted from my shoulders. In the past I had approached donation with some apprehension. It was so easy this time and I feel like it will be easy every time and I’m glad I can keep making this contribution to society and saving lives.

I think it’s the best gift I can give. The gift of life.

I’m grateful to be able to give.

It’s easy for me and it should be easy for you.

www.blood.co.uk

