Writing101: Two Video Games

Day Seven: Give and Take

Today’s Prompt: Write a post based on the contrast between two things — whether people, objects, emotions, places, or something else.

w101

Two Video Games

Elite Dangerous: Hello. I’m a space simulation game for the computer.

Clash of Clans: Hi. I’m a mobile phone game.

ED: I can simulate a whole galaxy of stars for you to pilot your spaceship in.

CoC: With me, you can build your own fantasy town.

ED: You can pilot a whole range of trading and fighting ships.

CoC: I have barbarians, archers, giants, goblins and more, even dragons!

ED: Players across the world can play in the same simulated persistent universe. I have millions of stars to explore.

CoC. I have persistent multiplayer too and millions of player towns for you to attack!

ED: You’re just a little mobile phone game. I’m a full, proper PC game for the Elite gamer.

CoC. Well! I’m a highly successful Massively Multiplayer Real Time Strategy Game. Something that PC games haven’t succeeded at commercially so far.

ED: But! You’re not even fully three dimensional, just isometric sprites.

CoC: I look OK on a phone. I’m fun and easy to play, yet hard to master.

ED: I have a tutorial and a comprehensive online manual.

CoC: I have a wiki and I’m so easy anyone can play. I fact you can play me any time you have a few minutes.

ED: I have great depth and scope for players to make their own choices!

CoC: When does anyone have time for a full computer game session these days?

Wife: Very true. Stop playing silly games and spend some time with me! I have jobs for you to do!

 

