Writing 101: Walk in the Park

Day Nine: Point of View

Today’s Prompt: A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene.

w101

 

I was knitting in my favourite spot in my local park. Red wool, thick and warm, over and under. I’m grateful I can still knit myself a warm sweater in my last years. It’s good to keep busy. I see a couple walk by. The man rubs his eye and I wonder what could be so sad for someone in the prime of life. I want to call out something reassuring but for some reason I think better of it and I’m back to my needles.

There had been shouting again. We had kissed and made up, reluctantly at first but then our love was all we knew and now we were walking and talking, just anywhere and anything. And then he had something in his eye, he mumbled and sniffed. I put a reassuring arm around him and we walked on.

The red sweater reminded me of the one she wore on our first date. The lovely person I met that day never deserved to be shouted at by an angry man. Her warm body felt good under my arm as we walked on but still I felt deeply sad and I hope no-one noticed as I wiped the tear away with a clumsy hand. I resolved to think before raising my voice again and quietly sniffed my damp nose.

 

 

 

 

 

