Writing 101: Blackfield

Day Eleven: Size Matters (In Sentences)

Today’s Prompt: Where did you live when you were 12 years old? Which town, city, and country? Was it a house or an apartment? A boarding school or foster home? An airstream or an RV? Who lived there with you?

w101

 

When I was twelve I lived in a village called Blackfield. The name, according to Wikipedia, comes from the soil colour. When we were kids there was a rumour that the name came because there was a field nearby where people were buried during the black death in times of old. Wikipedia is probably right. Not a big place. Not exciting. It was home though and I remember being happy there.

I was eight when we moved to the area and it was a big deal for me. On the wall in the kitchen we had a weather map of the weather statistics in England. It showed that we were in one of the driest and most sunny areas. When we lived in Cornwall it rained a lot in winter and our old crofters cottage was damp so we were proud to move somewhere better.

Blackfield is also near the water and my dad worked at a watersports centre. He put me on a few courses at his work to learn sailing and canoeing and I spent many happy hours, in and around the water. It was good.

We were also lucky to be on the edge of a national park called the New Forest and I romped around the woods many times with my little friends. I feel at home amongst trees. Forest air is like soul food for me.

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

